75 in ’13: A Fatal Grace

I want to live here. I've said it before, but it only becomes more true with each book.

I want to live here. I’ve said it before, but it only becomes more true with each book.

 

For the sixty-second book in the challenge, I read A Fatal Grace by Louise Penny, the second book in the Armand Gamache series.

This entire review could just be me making a series of dolphin noises, varying only in intensity and duration of squeals; that is how much I enjoy this series. It starts more slowly than the previous book, enveloping us in the town of Three Pines and the daily lives of its inhabitants. Everything proceeds mostly as usual, until someone unpleasant moves into their close-knit little town and starts making waves.

We also learn more about Gamache himself, his family and his history with La Sûreté, which is just as curious as the murder investigation. There is something dark in his past, and the animosity hinted at in the previous book becomes slightly more clear.

I’ll just leave you with the comment I posted to my GoodReads review right after finishing this book: “AUGH. WAITWAITWAIT. WHAT ABOUT AGENT N? WHAT IS AGENT L. DOING? WHAT IS GOING ON?! AUGH! NEXT BOOK, IMMEDIATELY!” Naturally, I purchased the next one as soon as I could.

I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars.

About crankyfacedknitter

We are a motley collection of cats, cranks, nerds, geeks, hobbyists, humorists, writers, caffeine addicts and one knitter. We have many offspring, but admittedly, most of them are imaginary.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment