75 in ’13: The Stepsister Scheme

Note the power stance.

Note the power stance.

For the fifty-first book in the challenge, I read The Stepsister Scheme, by Jim Hines.

It’s a different take on the old fairytale of Cinderella, with references to Sleeping Beauty, Snow White, and several others. The story begins after Cinderella’s/Danielle and her prince have returned home after their honeymoon. The prince goes missing, and she is attacked by magic wielded by her jealous stepsister. Danielle is recruited by the prince’s mother to find him with the help of two other kickass ladies who have done this sort of thing before.

It’s a fun idea, and the world-building is interesting, but I think Hines’ style doesn’t jive with me. Half of the story I wanted to read was there, but the other half was in my head and didn’t quite mix with what was on the page. I would have done the dialogue differently, the descriptions…the overall style would have been different. So I didn’t enjoy it as much as it deserved, probably. I still gave it a higher rating, because it isn’t a bad book, just not the one I wanted to read at the time. I haven’t read any of Hines’ other books, but I know people who have, and that just seems to be his storytelling groove.

I gave the book 4 out of 5 stars.

About crankyfacedknitter

We are a motley collection of cats, cranks, nerds, geeks, hobbyists, humorists, writers, caffeine addicts and one knitter. We have many offspring, but admittedly, most of them are imaginary.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

