75 in ’13: A Dance with Dragons

And now back to Tyrion, Daenerys, and Jon...

And now back to Tyrion, Daenerys, and Jon…

For the forty-sixth book in the challenge, I read A Dance with Dragons (A Song of Ice and Fire #5) by George R.R. Martin. Now I’m one of you regular schlubs who read the series ages ago when it first came out, waiting impatiently (some might say feverishly) for the next tome to fall from Martin’s pen.

Sigh.

Patience is not my virtue.

Patience is not my virtue.

 

We re-join the stories of all the folks away from King’s Landing, pretty much, since the previous book was about all the things going on with King’s Landing. I understand that originally, the two were supposed to be one book, but (surprising no one but Martin, probably) it quickly became far too unwieldy and difficult to follow all of these different viewpoints when ordered chronologically together.

I think this is one of the books in the series that I really need to re-read. I was in such a hurry to find out whether or not we’d have some linking up between the characters that I kind of glossed over some things. Not important things, plot-wise, but description and musing and character development on Tyrion’s part, especially. Things I already like about the writing style, but at the time couldn’t be arsed to think about. I gave it 5 out of 5 stars. Of course.

About crankyfacedknitter

We are a motley collection of cats, cranks, nerds, geeks, hobbyists, humorists, writers, caffeine addicts and one knitter. We have many offspring, but admittedly, most of them are imaginary.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

