Very clover

When I ran out of variegated cotton yarn*, I was pleased to find that I had packed a few balls of solid cotton yarn as well, just in case.** My favorite dishcloth pattern for solid colors is the Clover Tweed dishcloth by Noelle. Slip-stitch patterns tend to annoy me, but this one is easy to follow and, most importantly to me, easy to see when you’ve mucked it up.

It’s so pretty, and its scrubbing power is top-notch. This is the most recent one.

cheesecloth

But there are others! I should note that I’ve tried using variegated yarn for one of the two colors, but even with highly contrasting colors I felt it didn’t quite work. I’m a very big fan of the solids together, though. Mostly white/off-white and, uh…anything else.

purpleclovertweed

Not too shabby for a free pattern and a few hours. It’s so classy, too, in the kitchen. Or on a pumpkin.

zombiecloth

clovertweedcloths

I feel obligated to point out that these are great gifts, for a housewarming or bridal shower or something similar. The off-white/natural cotton paired with this year’s trendy colors is fantastic when you don’t know what colors the recipient might prefer, or what would go best in their kitchen.

*Not ENTIRELY out of variegated cotton yarn, just out of the six or so balls I’d put in my knitting bag. Oh no, no, no, I’m not out of dishcloth cotton by any stretch of the imagination. No way.

**”Just in case” yarn/projects are just as essential to my packing list and peace of mind as the primary and secondary knitting projects I take with me. I’ve used them so many times, I’ll never not pack “just in case” yarn.

About crankyfacedknitter

We are a motley collection of cats, cranks, nerds, geeks, hobbyists, humorists, writers, caffeine addicts and one knitter. We have many offspring, but admittedly, most of them are imaginary.
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

