75 in ’13: Still Life

Can I live there? I want to live there.

Can I live there? I want to live there.

 

For the fortieth (woo! halfway!) book in the challenge, I read Still Life by Louise Penny, from the Chief Inspector Gamache series, and fell in love.

This is a murder mystery set in rural Québec, in a town called Three Pines. The town looks like it belongs on a post card, the people are weird and quirky and I love them all, and reading about them all together makes me feel so very cozy. It’s the literary equivalent of a cushy window seat with lots of pillows, a roaring fireplace, snow or rain falling gently outside, and a hot cup of your favorite beverage at your elbow; rather quietly squishy-squealy and very, very content.

That said, don’t think for a moment that the mystery itself is dull or plodding. Mysteries tend to take some time to unfold, though, and while normally I find myself tempted to rush through parts in order to find the next clue, I am never in any hurry for Penny’s book to end. Happily, there are quite a number of them in the series (9 and a novella so far, and the 10th is expected this year),  which is good news for us all. I still find myself rationing them out like a particularly good (and hard to acquire) chocolate bar. As of this review (long after reading the first book), I have purchased up to #5 but am trying to read other books in between, despite my terrible track record of delayed gratification.

I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars, and a few extra hearts and kitty face emoji.

About crankyfacedknitter

We are a motley collection of cats, cranks, nerds, geeks, hobbyists, humorists, writers, caffeine addicts and one knitter. We have many offspring, but admittedly, most of them are imaginary.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

