75 in ’13: Nerd Prom

God, I'm glad I'm not in high school anymore.

God, I’m glad I’m not in high school anymore.

For the thirty-ninth book in the challenge, I read Nerd Prom by Joshua Anderson. Joshua Anderson is of the team behind Worsted for Wear, a knitting comic that I keep up on now and then. I believe I got this book on the cheap, because the author had just published it and wanted to offer current fans a deal, and also get some reviews and some attention, which is totally a legit way to go about it.

It’s a book about underdogs, if the title didn’t clue you in on that little nugget. It isn’t just about subverting the status quo (because the status is NOT quo), but actively fighting to be heard and seen as human beings, not just keeping one’s head down and managing to exist for another day.

This is pretty clearly a first book. It isn’t bad, but it has a lot of characters vying for screen time in an effort to include a lot of different nerd-doms and invisible categories of people, and considering the length (170 pages) it could have stood to lose one or even two in order to tighten up the narrative. There were a few proofreading issues, especially toward the end.

All in all, I feel I got my money’s worth. I probably wouldn’t re-read, but I still gave it 3 out of 5 stars.

About crankyfacedknitter

We are a motley collection of cats, cranks, nerds, geeks, hobbyists, humorists, writers, caffeine addicts and one knitter. We have many offspring, but admittedly, most of them are imaginary.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

