75 in ’13: The Lady Astronaut of Mars

And you were there, and you were there, and I can kill you with my mind.

And you were there, and you were there, and I can kill you with my mind.

 

For the thirty-eighth book of the challenge, I read The Lady Astronaut of Mars, by Mary Robinette Kowal. This is a short story, but it is sweet, heart-wrenching, and sparks one’s imagination. It could easily be the beginning of a different interpretation of Baum’s The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, where the world Dorothy goes to is Mars rather than magic. This is the first of Kowal’s many pieces that I have read, though I listen to her often on the Writing Excuses podcast. I’m pleased to find her work so enjoyable. It’s a little hard taking writing advice from people whose writing you haven’t read, because you don’t really know if they know what they’re talking about or if they even take their own advice. Clearly I need to purchase some of her other books, pronto.

I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars.

About crankyfacedknitter

We are a motley collection of cats, cranks, nerds, geeks, hobbyists, humorists, writers, caffeine addicts and one knitter. We have many offspring, but admittedly, most of them are imaginary.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

