75 in ’13: Desperate Duchesses

IS THAT A BARE SHOULDER, YOUNG LADY?!

IS THAT A BARE SHOULDER, YOUNG LADY?!

For the thirty-fifth book in the challenge, I read Desperate Duchesses, by Eloisa James. This was a Vaginal Fantasy book club pick, and…um. Okay, I feel like I should explain, somehow. It’s…corsets. And social constraints. And a lot of swelling and straining and gasping and breathlessness and exquisite blushing–

Okay, it wasn’t…it wasn’t quite as bad as I thought it would be. In this context, “bad” means “not my style” in addition to its more common meaning. I realize this particular genre tends to be packed full of consent issues, given the time period and the Awakening Of The Delicate Flower plot device that necessarily is accompanied by Oh Dear, Ladies Don’t Do That Sort Of Thing, so there’s that to get over. But I didn’t hate half the people I thought I would, and that’s good enough to bump it up to a 3 out of 5 stars. Barely.

About crankyfacedknitter

We are a motley collection of cats, cranks, nerds, geeks, hobbyists, humorists, writers, caffeine addicts and one knitter. We have many offspring, but admittedly, most of them are imaginary.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

