75 in ’13: Song of Scarabaeus

It's passion.

Never submit…TO PASSION. Right? Or authority? Or photos without cool vintage filters?

For the thirty-second book, I read Song of Scarabaeus by Sara Creasy, book one in her Scarabaeus series. This was a Vaginal Fantasy group book, and surprisingly, the romance side was minimal for most of the book. I appreciated that. There really aren’t many books with a female protagonist over the age of 12 that don’t end with a romance. Now that I think about it, I’m having a hard time coming up with a single book I’ve read with female main character over the age of 12 that doesn’t have a romantic element figuring prominently in the story. There has to be one, as if a non-manly person has a singular goal in life whether they admit it or not, and that is acquiring the sweet, sweet lovings of a manly-type person.

fuuuuface

This. This is the face I make.

OKAY. Anyway. The romance part is actually minimized, for something that still falls into the Vaginal Fantasy genre of the bookstore (I would love to see that on a sign in Barnes & Noble, by the way. If Teenage Vampire Romance can make it, why not Vaginal Fantasy?). The tech can get a little hand-wavy and magickal  in places, but not enough to really pull me out of the story so far that I can’t get back into it. The main character has her baggage, and so does her not-a-boyfriend-kinda-sorta-partner, and it gets in the way and there are misunderstandings, because there must be for plot. (This is untrue, actually – misunderstandings are not required. They are convenient.) If I remember correctly, there is some good demonstration of consent, but not only it has been a few months since I read it, I was not reading it specifically with consent issues in mind at the time. Take that with a grain of salt.

I’m not sorry I bought the book, and if I saw the second one in the library I would probably pick it up, but I probably won’t buy the second. It was fine, but I didn’t personally connect to the heroine very much, and there are a lot of other books my meager pennies will be going to first. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars, and that’s nothing to sneeze at.

About crankyfacedknitter

We are a motley collection of cats, cranks, nerds, geeks, hobbyists, humorists, writers, caffeine addicts and one knitter. We have many offspring, but admittedly, most of them are imaginary.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

