Day 22 – 30 Days of Knitting meme

Have you ever stricken someone off your to-knit-for list because they didn’t appreciate/take care of your last knitted gift to them?

Yeah. I don’t like to name names (other than names I’ve already named), but certain family members… Well, let’s just say that these days, IF I decide to knit something for them, it’s no bigger than a hat. And it’s made of acrylic that will do absolutely nothing if it goes through the washer by accident or design.

IMPORTANT NOTE:
There is a huge difference between not taking care of something, and loving/using it to death. Loving and using something into smithereens is a form of appreciation. I would rather someone come to me a few years after I make them a handful of dishcloths and ask for new ones because theirs are ragged from use, than never use them at all. I want people to use the things I make them. I make them to be useful AND pretty. So if my kids wear the elbows out of their sweaters, then great! They must love them! If my mother-in-law asks for another pair of hand-knit socks because she’s worn holes in the heels, fantastic. What is not great is things I make never seeing the light of day, or being destroyed specifically in a way I warned against, or immediately lost. That’s kind of heartbreaking.

I realize that, to an extent, what they do with what I make is none of my business. I’ve given it to them, and it’s no longer my job to dictate what happens to that thing. On the other hand, knitting takes a long, long time. I enjoy it, yes, but if the person I’ve spent all that time for doesn’t want the thing I give them, I’d rather just buy them a thing and spend my time on something for myself. Or someone else. Or myself. Doing a thing I like. It’s why, when certain relatives ask for Wal-Mart gift cards for holidays, I don’t even try to argue. You want money? Fine. Take money. Enjoy that non-negotiable $10. Have fun. I’m making myself mittens and the whole process is giving me joy.

For knitters, mainly.

Or a sweater. Sweaters are happy.

About crankyfacedknitter

We are a motley collection of cats, cranks, nerds, geeks, hobbyists, humorists, writers, caffeine addicts and one knitter. We have many offspring, but admittedly, most of them are imaginary.
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

