Day 19 – 30 Days of Knitting meme

Do you watch movies and/or listen to podcasts while knitting? What are your favorite things to knit to?

OH YES. YES YES YES. ALL THE THINGS. I’m a fan of so many, many things, and because I have two kids and very basic cable with no DVR, I rely on Hulu and Netflix a lot to be able to watch my many shows. And there are a lot of them. A lot.

My favorite things to knit to are generally anything from PBS’s Masterpiece, be it Mystery or Theatre. I don’t know why I feel so very cozy curling up with my knitting and tea (or coffee, or a little tipple of something if it’s been a very hard day) and something British, gray and mysterious, but I do. Something like Sherlock does require a bit more attention, and when it comes to Inspector Lewis I spend half my time ogling DS Hathaway, but that’s all right when I’ve got miles of garter stitch to plow through. And, if truth be told, I do love ghost stories as well, and two of my very guilty pleasures are Celebrity Ghost Stories and The Dead Files (which Travel Channel needs to stop with these refusals to make deals with streaming services other than Amazon’s pay-to-play, by the way). I’m more interested in the stories than whether or not anything actually happened, or whether or not anything is actually haunting the people in question. I want to know more about the person supposedly behind the haunting, or the circumstances of the tragedy they’re talking about. I’m also getting into Hannibal, Teen Wolf and Rev., but those are fledgeling fandoms. I’m still feeling them out a bit. I’m far more accustomed to knitting to Supernatural, Miss Marple (you might do best to look for videos on YouTube), and hours upon hours of Firefly. Unfortunately (or fortunately?), I can’t quite bring myself to knit and watch Game of Thrones. The knitting just doesn’t happen; I’m too busy watching. (It happens rarely enough; we don’t get HBO. I won’t comment on our method of acquisition.)

As for podcasts, I’ve mentioned once before my affection for Welcome To Night Vale. I also quite enjoy Writing Excuses (15 minutes long, because you’re in a hurry and they’re not that smart), Cast On (with Brenda Dayne), and I’ve been meaning to give a listen to Thrilling Adventure Hour. I can’t often listen to podcasts, because as the mum of two young kids, my ears need to be unblocked so that I can hear certain little ones getting into trouble/candy/imminent death, and listening (or watching) something without earbuds means I miss half of what’s said. My children are loud.

I know I’ve missed quite a lot of things I love and wish to share with the rest of you, but those are the main ones. Now I’m off to churn out another dishcloth like this one!

smelly dishclothWhich stinks, by the way. It stinks of perfume, because the yarn is scented. I should have known better; I don’t get along with most perfumes.

About crankyfacedknitter

We are a motley collection of cats, cranks, nerds, geeks, hobbyists, humorists, writers, caffeine addicts and one knitter. We have many offspring, but admittedly, most of them are imaginary.
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

