75 in ’13: The Color of Magic

It's color 7a.

I know what color it is.

For the twenty-third book in the challenge, I read The Color of Magic by Terry Pratchett, the first book in his Discworld series. A series which has its own sub-series. Multiple sub-series. Serieses? Anyway, there are a bunch of Discworld books, somewhere in the vicinity of 40, at this point.

It’s his first book, and the humor is still developing. It’s a bit awkward and contrived in places, but it improves, I assure you. Sort of. The nature of the humor doesn’t change, so if it’s not to your taste, it may never be.

I gave it four out of five stars, because I dig the puns and the silliness, although I do prefer the books with Death and Susan so far. I’m told the Guards books are awfully entertaining as well, but I haven’t read any of them yet.

About crankyfacedknitter

We are a motley collection of cats, cranks, nerds, geeks, hobbyists, humorists, writers, caffeine addicts and one knitter. We have many offspring, but admittedly, most of them are imaginary.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

