75 in ’13: The Hollow Needle

Oui secondaire.

That would be the French cover. Oui.

For the eighteenth book in the challenge, I read The Hollow Needle (L’aiguille Creuse) by Maurice Leblanc, supposedly the third(ish?) book in the Arsene Lupin series. (But we’ve been over the numbering system before.) I gave this one a solid four out of five stars.

There was a lot of French myth and legend and geography in this one, which I am really not very familiar with. While I didn’t mind, exactly, I think I would have enjoyed (and understood) what was going on a lot better if I’d had a more solid frame of reference. I also got the feeling that the story was complicated and full of twists…for the sake of being complicated and full of twists. I guess I was more interested in the characters, and while complications, misdirection, disguises and forgeries are Lupin’s modus operandi, toward the end I really just wanted somebody to say in plain speech what the hell was going on. Perhaps that’s my Lazy American showing.

I always enjoy Lupin’s antics when we do finally get to see him as himself, not impersonating someone else. Talk about manic! But cheerful, nearly always cheerful.

Beautrelet – poor Beautrelet! Where Ganimard is obsessed and Shears is an egomaniac, Beautrelet is just some young bloke with a sharp mind who enjoys the puzzle and wants the truth. He is much harder for Lupin to manipulate, which makes him a better opponent.

About crankyfacedknitter

We are a motley collection of cats, cranks, nerds, geeks, hobbyists, humorists, writers, caffeine addicts and one knitter. We have many offspring, but admittedly, most of them are imaginary.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

