Day 6 – 30 Days of Knitting meme

What is your favorite piece that you’ve knit?

That’s a hard question, actually. The most beautiful thing I’ve ever knit was Knitty.com’s Shipwreck Shawl, so I’m tempted to say that’s my favorite. I hardly ever wear it, however, because it’s so delicate and fragile; the first (and so far, only) time I wore it, it snagged so badly that I don’t think I can fix it. All I did was walk within a foot of a mailbox, and it managed to catch on the corner.  The wee pearls and occasional faceted crystal are just darling though, in that big mess of misty gray alpaca and silk. And I don’t have even one picture of it that does it justice.

That's right. Rocking the kid foam boards.

Draped across my blocking boards, because my duvet cover is white.

I used four or so balls of Classic Elite’s Silky Alpaca Lace in a soft gray, not really caring that the pattern called for sock/fingering-weight and I was using lace-weight yarn. The practical problem there was, simply, that it took for-fucking-ever to make the shawl big enough. I’m short, so I’m accustomed to circular shawls being far beyond my wingspan, and I thought subbing the yarn wouldn’t be that big a deal. Perhaps I would have changed my mind had I known just how much k2tog, YO was involved in the last section, and how quickly I tire of doing something mentally easy that required watching with every stitch. Several times I put it down for months, unable to bear more hours of k2tog, YO with no end in sight, so start-to-finish was a period of years.

Some people found the center to be tricky; I found it compelling.

Some people found the center to be tricky; I found it compelling.

I haven’t even addressed the issue of the beads. Because the beads rest on the YO, or the “float,” the beads must be pre-strung on the yarn rather than added with a very small crochet hook and secured on each random, individual stitch. This meant threading the yarn on a beading needle and sliding each and every damned bead onto the yarn, and because I didn’t know how many I would need for each skein, I just strung a whole mess of them and slid them down the full length of the 440-yard skein as I knit. This meant putting down the knitting, picking up the length of beads, and pushing them down the yarn in sections. It was tedious. I would not do that again, not with that yarn (a 2-ply, with clingy alpaca) and certainly not with those cheap plastic pearl-like beads. The faceted glass ones weren’t nearly as rough, being more expensive, more consistently-shaped, and smoother through the holes and at the holes’ edges.

The beads were a pain, but they're so pretty.

The beads were a pain, but they’re so pretty.

I’ve been thinking about making it again. Without beads, or with only a few (10? 50?), with a sturdier, ropier yarn, something more net-like. Sea Silk, maybe. Something shiny and weathered and blue-green-ish, cool to the touch, heavy and soft. Does such a thing exist?

Cranky’s Shipwreck Shawl

About crankyfacedknitter

We are a motley collection of cats, cranks, nerds, geeks, hobbyists, humorists, writers, caffeine addicts and one knitter. We have many offspring, but admittedly, most of them are imaginary.
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

