75 in ’13: Naked In Death

The future is very dark red.

There is a distinct lack of both nakedness and death in this picture.

For the fifteenth book in the challenge, I read Naked In Death by J.D. Robb (or Nora Roberts, if you prefer), book one of the In Death series. Straight up, I gave it three stars out of five.

I’m having a hard time putting my indifference into words. I don’t know if I’ve ever read a Nora Roberts book (surely I must have – but then, I have tended to steer clear or the Romance genre as a whole until very, very recently), so I wasn’t already a fan of the author going into this. The plot is okay, and goodness knows I love me some murder mysteries, but I guess it simply didn’t click. I haven’t written off the whole series, mind; I’m just not in a hurry to buy more of it right this minute. The first book in a long-running series (very long-running, in this case) can have some basic problems that resolve in the following novels, and should be taken with a grain of salt and an eye toward the future. Certainly a lot of people are huge fans, and there are elements at work that could blossom into something very interesting, but the relationship between Dallas and Roarke just didn’t draw me in. Maybe once they’ve worked out a thing or two and both of them stop being so heavy-handed with each other, my opinion might change.

The basics are, Lt. Eve Dallas is a police officer in the year 2058, and she has Issues. She also has a weird murder on her hands, whereby a woman is murdered by an old-fashioned, bullet-shooting gun rather than the fancy, restricted laser guns the rest of the civilized world uses. Naturally, nothing is quite what it seems, and neither are the people involved. The woman’s family is too perfect, and their buddy in high places is entirely too perfectly full of his perfect hair and perfect body and perfect life and perfect self.

spnshrug

About crankyfacedknitter

We are a motley collection of cats, cranks, nerds, geeks, hobbyists, humorists, writers, caffeine addicts and one knitter. We have many offspring, but admittedly, most of them are imaginary.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

