52 in 1: Side Jobs

For week 17, I read Side Jobs by Jim Butcher.

This is a collection of the many Dresden Files-related short stories and novellas Butcher has written for various anthologies. Not every story is written from Harry’s point of view; we get a novella from Thomas and a short story from Murphy’s point of view, the latter set just after Changes and before Ghost Story (which I haven’t yet read because it’s not out in paperback until the summer).

I mean, what can I say? I love the Dresden Files books, and while not every short story was mind-blowing, it was still enjoyable. Not every story was a hero-against-the-world or epic battle, and I liked that. It’s nice to see the characters having fun, or being miserable because somebody is being a magically massive douche-canoe.

I could gush on about each individual story, but why don’t you just read it yourself and save us both the trouble? I wouldn’t be able to do it justice anyway. Go. Read. I’ll wait.

About crankyfacedknitter

We are a motley collection of cats, cranks, nerds, geeks, hobbyists, humorists, writers, caffeine addicts and one knitter. We have many offspring, but admittedly, most of them are imaginary.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

