52 in 1: The Good Fairies Of New York

For week 16, I read The Good Fairies Of New York by Matt Millar.

I picked up this book because Neil Gaiman wrote an introduction for it, praising it so thoroughly. I read it, put it down, and procrastinated reviewing it for a very long time. Almost an entire month, I think.

I’m still not sure how to review this book. It’s not even that the style is different than I’m used to, because it isn’t anything avant-garde or weird. It’s a story. It’s a story about fairies, and human nature, and desires and dreams. It’s also a story of self-loathing, of prejudice and hardship, of hate and selfishness. It’s a story of beauty and ugliness. I realize that the presence of the ugliness is supposed to highlight the beauty all the more, but for me, the ugliness utterly overpowered the goodness. (Maybe this says something about me, that I focused so thoroughly on the dark.)

Honestly, by the time I got to the end I was surprised to see it end happily at all. I don’t want to say that I didn’t like the book, but I suppose you can’t like everything, can you? I’m not sorry I read it, though. It has certainly given me things to think about. Perhaps I’ll give it a few years and read it again, and perhaps I’ll change my mind.

About crankyfacedknitter

We are a motley collection of cats, cranks, nerds, geeks, hobbyists, humorists, writers, caffeine addicts and one knitter. We have many offspring, but admittedly, most of them are imaginary.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 52 in 1: The Good Fairies Of New York

  1. katkoe says:

    like your take on the book, very helpful even if it wasn’t your cup of tea 🙂

  2. Thank you. Trying to remind myself that not liking a book is NOT betraying the author. It doesn’t make it not worthy of being a book. I AM NOT THE BE-ALL, END-ALL OF LITERATURE. Goodness, self.

Leave a Reply

