52 in 1: The Tao of Pooh

He's just a little black rain-cloud, hovering under the kanji tree...

For Week 5, I read The Tao of Pooh, by Benjamin Hoff. He has also written The Te of Piglet, which I have not yet read, but of which I am now curious.

This is a re-read. The first time I read it, not long after purchasing the book (several years by now), I was not at all prepared to be open to the concept of Taoism. I’m better prepared now, but only in that I am open to a new way of being. I’m not sure I could ever fully embrace Taoism; there’s too much Rabbit and Eeyore in me right now. I want to know why too much. While I can appreciate recognizing the Nature of things and using them in a fashion harmonious to their Natures, rather than forcing them into some other purpose, I still take too much pleasure in the prospect of being Clever for doing just that. And, goodness knows what I would do if I didn’t have anything to complain about.

Still, I intend to further my knowledge (oh noes, MOAR Knowledge!) of Taoism with other books, and expand that into a general trend toward learning about other Eastern philosophies. In college I was too wrapped up in my WASPiness to even hear about any other way, much less study it on purpose, and even afterward I couldn’t conceive of living in such a simple manner. Now, I can conceive of other people living in such a manner. I still have trouble with the idea of myself letting go of so much, but at least I can read it and think about it without rolling my eyes. Baby steps, you know?

I like this book. It’s simple, it’s accessible, and it’s a quick, enjoyable read. You get the basics of Taoism with some pleasant, understandable metaphors and examples, without the dry, heavy jargon that a lot of books on the subject of philosophy are plagued by. (Not all, mind you, but many. I would go so far as to say ‘most.’) Really, that’s rather the point of Taoism, isn’t it? Simplicity. Doing, not Thinking. Being, not Striving.

Oy. I have a lot of work to not do. Or, I have a lot to Do. Or…uh…wait. I’m thinking about this too much already. Crap.

About crankyfacedknitter

We are a motley collection of cats, cranks, nerds, geeks, hobbyists, humorists, writers, caffeine addicts and one knitter. We have many offspring, but admittedly, most of them are imaginary.
This entry was posted in Books, Navel gazing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

