Camp NaNo update

I am SO GOOD at getting in my own way. I can’t even tell you. If getting in your own way was an Olympic sport, I could, like….play for…I don’t know, Monaco, or something. Does Monaco participate in the Olympics? These are things I must know. I have to look them up instead of writing, you see.

Wait, where was I? Right, Nano update. OKAY. It’s been 16 days, and I am at a grand total of:

2,244!!!!

No, I didn’t forget a 0. I ought to be in the 25,000 range, but you see, I forgot the cardinal rule of NaNo: just write. Pants it. Stop trying to create the Next American Novel! (Is that a reality show yet? A house full of writers frantically avoiding their laptops…that house would be immaculate. Riveting stuff, people! ABC, call me.)

Anyway, I forgot that. I became so wrapped up in my determination to have a saleable novel at the end of the month, I couldn’t write. How could I, with no characters or plot or Pretentious Underlying Themes to show how smart I am? Impossible.

So, here I go again. No plot, no idea where I’m going, scribbling in a notebook and typing it up the next day, since I’m not disciplined enough to actually get any writing done when there is delicious internets on my laptop. It’s working, sort of, and I’m trying to remain optimistic.

The Camp NaNo website put me in a cabin with other Historical Fiction writers, and then I changed my novel entirely. They’re also all under 18, isn’t that fun? I’m struggling with the Sierra Madre of a laundry pile and a teething 8-month-old and a three-year-old testing the powers of cajones, and my cabin-mates have absolutely no frame of reference. To be fair…I think I lost my frame of reference for high school. It wasn’t a very good frame to begin with. Kind of shabbily put together, no matting, mostly cardstock with a bit of craft paint to make it look like a proper frame. Oh, Elmer’s glue. So wet. So…not that sticky, unless you’re using paper.

RIGHT, NANO. So, in the past three days I’ve managed 2,244. It’s something, at any rate. I’ll take it.

About crankyfacedknitter

We are a motley collection of cats, cranks, nerds, geeks, hobbyists, humorists, writers, caffeine addicts and one knitter. We have many offspring, but admittedly, most of them are imaginary.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo, Whinging, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

