Ladypants

Here is a pattern I’ve made twice now: BaDumBums’ Ruffle Skirted Soaker. It’s fairly easy, a pretty quick knit, and if you want to make one for a boy, just leave off the ruffle. Not that babies aren’t adorbz running around in their diapers, but y’all know I like to keep things classy around here. Minimize the white trashiness as much as possible, pretend I might actually have had a more dignified upbringing than I suspect I did.

Now with whirly skirt.

I made this particular soaker out of Naturally Caron Country. I chose it because it wasn’t entirely acrylic, it wasn’t too terribly expensive, it was heavier than sock yarn, and…well, I was in a big chain craft store. The list of “acceptable” yarns available really wasn’t that long.

Caron’s Country line is…okay. I don’t see myself buying it again, frankly. I have trouble getting the gauge it says, it’s splitty (and I use pointy-ass needles, people), which drives me bonkers, and there isn’t much spring in it at all. Also, don’t let the 25% wool fool you into thinking it’s at all blockable. Oh no, ladies and gents, not a bit. I used this for a coat as well, and even with seed stitch edges it curls like there’s no tomorrow. I’ll have to iron/steam it to correct it, but I suspect that won’t happen before Peanut outgrows it and it finds its way into “Too Small But Can’t Bring Myself To Donate” box.

I see London, I see France!

I also made the ruffle into more of a skirt, doubling the stitches a second time before I completely ran out of the Deep Taupe. I do like the seed stitch band and picot edging, though; definitely recommend it. It doesn’t entirely prevent rolling, but it’s a nice treatment. On the second one (out of Caron Simply Soft in eye-searing purple and blue) I didn’t knit quite as long a ruffle, or as wide a seed stitch, and I can see that (when she grows into it…gauge-schmauge) I’ll have to press it out a bit. But again, the picot edge is adorable in a contrasting color.

OH HEY, MY AMAZING POWERS OF KITCHENER! Or not. You can see on the right side of the crotch, there, where I totally messed it up and then halfway through figured it out, but didn’t go back and correct it. I’m awesome like that. (SHUT UP. Would you have noticed if I hadn’t specifically taken a picture of it and pointed it out? No.)

She looks thrilled to be dressed up, doesn't she?

See? Adorbz. Especially with the tights, which HELLO, I NEED MY OWN. If I felt like knitting with crochet thread I could make baby tights, too. Maybe legwarmers? Is that ridiculous? The Podling is a boy; I didn’t have the chance to splash out on wee girly accessories. There are a billion patterns out there on Ravelry (mostly for sale) for baby legwarmers, but none of them have addressed the issue of staying on. I have a problem getting socks to stay on this child, let alone shoes, and her brother was distinctly and firmly in the camp of Bare Feet Are Beautiful. Or at least, one bare foot. One pant leg scooched up to his knee…y’know, keepin’ it rizzle.

Baby sweaters are great, but I think I’ll be whipping up some of these for the girl babies in my future. Well, not MY future. Other people’s girl babies, in our collective (respective?) futures. Let’s not start any rumors, ‘kay? Whew. Too soon, man. Too soon.

Speaking of too soon….she’s already too big for these. She has her mummy’s thunderous thighs.

About crankyfacedknitter

We are a motley collection of cats, cranks, nerds, geeks, hobbyists, humorists, writers, caffeine addicts and one knitter. We have many offspring, but admittedly, most of them are imaginary.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Them Kids and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ladypants

  1. Those are wonderful! It (almost) makes me wish we had a little one for me to knit for. Thanks for sharing and, no, I would never have noticed the kitchenering error. I hate that stupid kitchenering thing anyway. Stinking complicated seaming technique. šŸ™‚

    • For something so simple, it’s so complicated! Or is that the other way around? I CAN NEVER DECIDE!

      (Also, thank you! I highly recommend making a stash of these for babies-as-yet-unknown.)

Leave a Reply

