Granny Stripe Blanket

My extended family is having something of a population explosion this year. It was only a matter of time, you see, as my siblings, cousins and I have started doing things like growing up and getting married. It’s a little scary to think that soon, our grandparents will pass. The power in the family (the organizing, the cooking, the cleaning, the hosting) has already shifted to our parents’ generation, and eventually it will shift to us. I, for one, still do not feel nearly old enough to have my own kids, much less be the one shopping for stocking stuffers for the endless line of stockings at the family Christmas. (Although, when that job does fall to me, I’m reinstating Grandma’s who-gets-the-underwear roulette.)

I had to be the first one, but then everyone else thought it was a good idea (I guess?) and are following suit. They didn’t want to be runners-up in the race of biological influence, naturally. (So far, I’m still winning. I don’t know that I’ll win in the long run, as it is highly likely my cousins won’t stop at two kids.) I still think of myself as the only knitter in the family, which is categorically untrue, but my sisters are still in Hats And Dishcloths Land and my great-aunt has moved on to mostly charity knitting. The result, however, is the same. These incoming kiddos need blankets!

This is one I knitted for my cousin’s baby, who turned out to be a boy (after I finished the blanket). It is still sitting on my bookcase, washed and waiting to be sent. I might be a little afraid of the post office. Not in the phobia way, but in the everyone-here-is-mad way, with all their arbitrary rules and regulations regarding packaging and postage costs. (Is it just me, or do the rules change depending on who you’re speaking to?)

Yipes! Stripes!

This is the Granny Stripe Afghan from Attic 24. It isn’t a proper pattern, exactly, in that it’s a very basic crochet stitch and blanket construction, but for a very basic crocheter it was exactly what I needed to know. The yarn is…uh….well, I think some of it is Lion Brand’s Cotton-Ease, but not all of it is. And, I can’t be sure. The yarn was acquired as part of a friend’s destash, and some of it is something from my very first order from Knitpicks, something they don’t carry any longer, but I can’t remember what it’s called.

Oh, cast-on edge, how you mock me with your tightness. And not in a good way.

I’d like to say that this was a joy to crochet, but that would be a Liar Liar Pants On Fire situation. I didn’t much care for the colors (I don’t like pastels, as a general rule), the stripe pattern was kind of boring, the cotton yarn soft but unforgiving in the stretch department, and…well, I was awfully pregnant. It’s entirely possible I just wasn’t in a good place while making it. I hope it doesn’t transfer. The kid sure doesn’t need my negativity.

Other than that, it’s a good blanket. It’s machine-washable and -dryable, it’s soft, it’s baby-appropriate…and it was free for both of us. Good stuff.

About crankyfacedknitter

We are a motley collection of cats, cranks, nerds, geeks, hobbyists, humorists, writers, caffeine addicts and one knitter. We have many offspring, but admittedly, most of them are imaginary.
This entry was posted in Crocheting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Granny Stripe Blanket

  1. Beth says:

    A suggestion for avoiding the post office when shipping: I buy my postage on line, then request a carrier pickup, and it’s a beautiful thing. You just need an accurate enough scale, and you’re golden. No waiting in line at the PO.

Leave a Reply

