Cute enough to nom

When I first learned I was pregnant with the Podling, I looked at books for knitting things for small humans.

Actually, that’s a lie.  When I first learned I was pregnant, I freaked the hell out and ostriched a bit in the hopes that if I didn’t acknowledge it, it would all go away.  Then I hoped it would go away if I just didn’t talk about it.  Then I was gripped in the throes of some pretty nasty morning-noon-and-night sickness that kept me from doing pretty much anything, including much reading, knitting, traveling, or eating.

Eventually, I was able to look at a few books and eat a bit, but I really didn’t have the mental, emotional, or physical energy to knit hardly anything. Even reading was out of the question; watching the needles move made me queasy, and so did all those little black letters on the page.  I looked at the pictures, though.  I could handle pictures.  One of the books I particularly wanted to knit from was Susan B. Anderson’s Itty-Bitty Nursery.

Decorate--er, dress your kid in style. Pretty sweet.

This is something I wanted to make for him. I didn’t know he was a him, but I figured that babies can pull off just about any baked goods, regardless of sex. I bought yarn to make it, but never managed to actually get it on the needles. Mostly because I was so drained from work and being pregnant, I only had enough energy to come home and sleep, eat, stare slack-jawed at the TV until bedtime, and sleep some more.

Happily, things were different with the Peanut. I knitted and crocheted up a storm, despite having a toddler running around all the time. Here is the hat and mitts set I made her.

Just my size, she says.

…and Taka’s paws. This was just prior to the cat trying them on for size.

I used Rowan Calmer for the tan section, a leftover ball from a run-in with Shedir. I don’t remember what the white is, but it was a DK weight of some sort of baby yarn. Very soft, slightly shiny, very washable. The red is leftover something-or-other, and the green stem is mercerized cotton (possibly something from Knitpicks).

Now the picture is complete; a cat has been added.

Taka would like to know if these are for her, or if I just hadn’t yet called her for the photo shoot. She’s very fluffy.

She could not be more pleased with herself.

Regal, even. Beautiful. What was I talking about?

About crankyfacedknitter

We are a motley collection of cats, cranks, nerds, geeks, hobbyists, humorists, writers, caffeine addicts and one knitter. We have many offspring, but admittedly, most of them are imaginary.
This entry was posted in Cats, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

