Thursday Things

1. SNOW! Lots of it. Shutting-down-the-city amounts. I love snow. Winter is my second-favorite season, autumn being the first. Anytime you can wear lots of handknits and drink lots of hot beverages is automatically Good Times; I’m just not as tolerant of the cold as I used to be when I was a young Cranky-Face. Flinging myself headlong down a hill on a piece of sketchy plastic doesn’t sound like such a good idea anymore, but a snowy walk with a hot bev is my favies.

2. Because Nyte came home early, I jaunted out to get my hairs did. They are now…uh…mom-like. A few days for my hair to recover from the shock, plus a few attempts to wash out the hair products the stylist put in my hair, might actually get me to a point where it isn’t so goddamned fluffy. Not that fluffy is bad, mind; it’s just short enough that the fluffiness I have going on here is very tall a the back of my head, and it’s reminiscent of the old beehive hairstyle. Just a little.

3. Peanut is starting to smile and coo a bit. I am spending a fair bit of every day melting into a puddle of awwwwwwwwwww!.

4. I hate waiting. I’m probably not alone in this.

5. I worked out that the crocheted baby blanket I’m making should have 76 squares. I’m making the central medallions first, since the outer row will be all the same color and I’ll be joining them together as I go. So far, I have 30 completed medallions (the ends woven in and everything!), and all of the centers (and 24 with row two as well) completed. Each medallion is composed of three round rows, then one squaring row, so I’m doing pretty damn good.

I’ve also run out of the aqua blue yarn and the neon yellow is done. I might be able to find more of the blue in that shade, maybe. Possibly. Caron seems to have discontinued the Brites line, or at least none of the big box stores around here are carrying any of these tropical shades of yellow or orange, for sure. I can find the hot pink and lime green, but because of that I have PLENTY. I do, however, have a random skein of Caron Simply Soft in Berry Blue (a sort of periwinkle, really) that will probably be just fine. The concept of the afghan is to use up scraps, and that’s what I’m doing. Buying yarn for a scrapghan is against the whole principle of the thing.

At any rate, in the space of four days I’m probably 1/3 finished with this baby blanket. That’s not too shabby.

6. Really, the hair…I’ll have to get used to it. I can’t decide if it’s too short, or not short enough. Tomorrow, me and the hair putty will confer and see what we come up with.

About crankyfacedknitter

We are a motley collection of cats, cranks, nerds, geeks, hobbyists, humorists, writers, caffeine addicts and one knitter. We have many offspring, but admittedly, most of them are imaginary.
This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

