Mermaid Hair

That’s what I’ve decided to call the stuff I just started spinning. I bought two balls of it at the Kentucky Sheep & Wool Festival, an even that had surprisingly little sheep and wool, given the name. Lots of kitsch, though. Lots. Lots and lots. Oh, and fair food, so not a total loss.

Anyway, I’d love to tell you who I bought it from, what it is and how much of it I have exactly, but I bought it at the end of the day. I guess both the vendor and I were too tired and cold to think straight; not only did she not include her business card, color/fiber card, or receipt, but I didn’t even notice until weeks later when I wanted to refer to it. Damnation; she had a lot of these mixed balls too, all sorts of sparkle and fiber/color blends.

From a purple mermaid, obviously.

So, I’m calling it Mermaid Hair. I’m spinning it on a teeny drop spindle, only .13 oz. according to the lady who picked it up for me. She went to a fiber fest earlier in the year that I couldn’t attend, and I asked her to get me something around an ounce if it was under $25, to spin very thin yarn. I figured she’d know from a good spindle, since she’s the resident fiber expert in our little group, and boy howdy, did she! It spins very nicely, suffering from only one flaw – being that it’s less than an ounce, it’s small, and thus doesn’t hold much spun yarn. Alas.

It’s hard to see from this camera-phone pic just how lovely this stuff is. It’s cobalt and royal purple, with streaks of dark teal and bits of cranberry and gold threaded through, along with white silk slubs, baby blue threads, and lots of silver and dark bronze angelica sparkles. It’s kind of like the My Little Pony hair that I created at one of the spinning group meetings, but…well…better. I suppose that’s to be expected, since this lady is a professional fiber vendor with lots of blending experience, and I’m very new to spinning and it was my first time blending anything with any kind of tool. Let me give you a close-up:

SPARKLE!

That’s a little closer…but you can’t see the teal at all. Oh well. I’m spinning it laceweight, and I think I’m going to keep it as a single…I think. I might Navajo-ply it once I fill up this spindle, just to see what it looks like. I’d like to keep it thin and long, though, so I can knit it into a lovely lace scarf, something with a water or celestial pattern. I might go so far as to make something up! …you never know. Heck, if I’m making the yarn, I might as well make the pattern too, right?

Next thing you know, I’ll be dying wool and blending it up, and wondering how expensive it would be to raise sheep and silkworms myself…oh, such a slippery slope it is. At least I won’t be able to ponder keeping sheep here in the apartment. I don’t suppose the landlord would be happy with livestock on the balcony…come to think of it, I don’t think the livestock would be very excited about that prospect either.

About crankyfacedknitter

We are a motley collection of cats, cranks, nerds, geeks, hobbyists, humorists, writers, caffeine addicts and one knitter. We have many offspring, but admittedly, most of them are imaginary.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Time To Be Me and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mermaid Hair

  1. DargonflyBlue says:

    Shetland Sheep are small and hardy and do quite well in winter i have been told. They are also small. 🙂 Not helping I know. Beautiful yarn.

    • Thank you! I did look into raising sheep once, when I was still in 4-H. I was all excited about helping a friend of my parents’ with their lambs, but after the arduous process of naming them, everything else was WAY too icky. That was well before my fiber obsession; dealing with poos and goos and all manner of grossness might be worth it if I could get some wool out of it. Maybe. Possibly. Or I could just stalk local sheep farms around shearing time.

Leave a Reply

