Make with the knitting content!

It has occurred to me that there is a certain word in the title of this blog that has not been adequately represented thus far.  And by “adequately” I mean “not at all, in any way, shape, or form.”  I personally can’t abide for any sort of inequality in representation, as an American who follows all the rules set forth by our forefathers, just like all the other Americans.  (No voting for me, no sir! Not for this female non-land-owner!)

So. The knitting.  (This would be a lot easier if the damned connection would sit still for more than thirty seconds so I could access the few knitting pictures I have right now.)

I made a bajillion hats for my in-laws this year, and as soon as I find my camera, I’ll show you. I also made a pair of socks, but because those were down to the wire, I don’t have pictures.  I also made a ton of dishcloths, and one Toto, The Very Useful And Cute Potholder. (Ravelry link)  I would show you a picture of that, but…I kind of suck when it comes to pictures. This is a habit I shall have to break if you are going to have anything interesting to look at, because while I rather enjoy looking at my cats and my child, those will probably get old after the hundredth time.

What I DO have pictures of is courtesy of the webcam on my wee little Eee PC, to which I am joined at the hip and wish to bear its children, if we weren’t both already married.  But I digress. Voila, a dishcloth!!

Dig the wicked high-resolution shot, man.

I call it

Am I hiding behind it? You bet your sweet bippy. (What is a bippy? Are there sour bippies? Is that the right way to pluralize ‘bippy’?)   I don’t get gussied up much unless I’m going somewhere, and heaven knows I’m not about to put my picture on the internets unless I’m glamour-shotted up. Well, maybe not the feather boa. Or the half-can of Aquanet.

What was I saying? Oh, right. Knitting. Dishcloths. This one is a Ballband dishcloth out of Sugar & Creme cotton yarn. Both were donated to me, ironically, sans ballbands, so I can’t tell you what the color name is, only that it is violently purple and violently lime green.  This is for my dear mummy, as is the next one.

Pay no attention to the carnage behind the young one.

It’s a miracle I got him to hold even that still.

This is his normal state: blurry.

As you can (barely) see from this one, I ran out of that vivid purple and had to sub in some lime.  The variegated is some sort of tutti-frutti color whose ballband is also gone. Man, I’m awesome at losing those. Probably because they’re all jammed into a box in the closet, and underneath another box and that’s underneath a bag of random acrylic yarn I have no idea what to do with.

One day I’ll run out of interesting yarn and projects, and I’ll make the craziest Aunt Cat-Collector afghans ever, and they’ll sit on my couch and chairs proudly. The cats will love them, they’ll be warm and scratchy, and nothing in this world will kill them. I could drape them over my house under threat of nuclear fallout, and be the only house left standing.  But first, I have to get through all these Xmas gifts.

Tonight is my night off. I’ll switch back and forth between Ghost Hunters and Dog The Bounty Hunter (don’t judge me), poke around on the internets, sip some coffee with sweet, sweet peppermint mocha creamer (I’m serious, Nestle; you need to make this a year-round flavor, like stat), and knit on some dishcloths.  I was going to do another Toto and Ballband dishcloth, but frankly, I’d rather take a page out of Redshirt Knitting’s book and make some simple 2-color square ones. I bet I could make two tonight.  Once these are done I have three more hats to make, but that’s cool. I have to ship those anyway, so there’s no rush. Just don’t mention it to my brother and sister in Tennessee.

About crankyfacedknitter

We are a motley collection of cats, cranks, nerds, geeks, hobbyists, humorists, writers, caffeine addicts and one knitter. We have many offspring, but admittedly, most of them are imaginary.
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment